In preparation for the implementation of the GASTPE program in SY 2021-2022, the PEAC organized the annual assembly of the GASTPE Regional Program Committees (RPComs) to discuss implementation issues and concerns, policy recommendations, and plans last March 18, 2021 via Zoom. The RPCom is chaired by the DepEd Regional Director and co-chaired by the PEAC Regional Program Director (RPD). The RPDs are Presidents of credible educational institutions and associations that host the PEAC Regional Secretariats (RS). The RPD designates the Regional Program Coordinator (RPC) for the day-to-day operations of the RS.

Usec. Jesus L.R. Mateo gave the opening remarks on behalf of Sec. Leonor M. Briones, PEAC Chairperson. This was followed by the rationale and overview of the assembly presented by Ms. Rhodora Angela F. Ferrer, PEAC Executive Director.

As GASTPE Program Manager, Usec. Mateo also gave updates on the government assistance and subsidies of DepEd, particularly the special provisions in the GASTPE program guidelines for SY 2021-2022 and the program allocations, as well as the DepEd policies on private school voluntary closures due to the pandemic.

The PEAC NS Management Team presented the status reports on the ESC, SHS VP, TSS, INSET, and Research in SY 2020-2021. Mr. Eimann P. Evarola, PEAC NS Information Technology and Information Management Officer, gave updates on data privacy and information security. Ms. Ferrer then discussed the PEAC policy recommendations and plans for SY 2021-2022. The Regional Program Committees had small group meetings in breakout rooms to discuss the implementation of upcoming activities.

There was also a virtual awarding of plaques of appreciation to outgoing RPCom members, namely:

  • Dr. Reynaldo C. Bautista, President Emeritus, University of Baguio, Outgoing PEAC Regional Program Director-CAR
  • Mr. Saturnino G. Belen, Jr., President, First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities, Outgoing PEAC Regional Program Director-Region 4B
  • Dr. Marina O. Abella, Outgoing Regional Program Coordinator-Region 1
  • Dr. Corazon B. Dacawi, Outgoing Regional Program Coordinator-CAR